Leave the Light on for Me

In the not-too-distant future, when eco rules are in force, two sisters work hard to keep their carbon footprint under control. When the Planet Inspectors arrive to see how they’re getting on, everything is going well until one mistake means they could be evicted… The sisters now have two options: pay up to offset their carbon footprint or successfully complete a series of eco challenges. Will the sisters get to stay or will they face eviction?

Made from the perspective of a professional cast of artists with learning disabilities and autism, audiences will be taken on a journey of joy, laughter, shock and surprise. Featuring creative audio description, sustainable design and a sophisticated soundscape, this physical theatre performance aims to make an overwhelming issue accessible and inspire everyone to do their part.

Leave the Light on for Me is a joyous and rebellious outdoor performance that explores climate change and justice from a fresh perspective. 

A Letter to the Earth


Charlotte Jones


JoAnne Haines


Alison Short


Alan Clay

Robert, Planet Inspector Senior

Howard Davies

Simon, Planet Inspector Junior

Paul Bates



  • Joyce Lee  – Co-Director
    Nickie Miles-Wildin  – Co-Director
    Maria Terry – Designer
    Kt Vacara – Costume Maker
    Naomi Parker – Costume Maker
    Sarah Worrall – Prop Maker
    Sarah Llewellyn – Composer
    Jez Colborne – Assistant Composer
    Jack Yarrow – Assistant Composer / Creative Enabler
    Movement Director – Carlos Pons Guerra
    Ben Pugh – Production Manager
    Heidi Thornton – Technical Stage Manager
    Melissa Conyers – Company Stage Manager
    Melissa Jackson – Company Stage Manager
    Becca Johnson – Company Stage Manager
    Ben Rothera – Producer
    Hannah Harris – RTYDS Assistant Director
    Tracy Radford – RTYDS Assistant Director Support Worker
    Lyleigh Philips – RTYDS Assistant Director Support Worker
    Tash Nird – RTYDS Assistant Director Support Worker
    Vicky Ackroyd  – Access Champion

  • Madeleine O’Reilly – Community Cast Director
    Naomi Parker – Costume Supervisor – Community Cast
    Jess Boyes – Producer
    Paul Wilshaw – Assistant Producer
    Lauren Hall – Assistant Producer Support Worker
    Laura Reid – Creative Engagement Facilitator placement
    Kate Mahon – Community Connector
    Emilie Flower – Filmmaker

  • Rob Abbey – Head of Communications
    Liam Bairstow – Communications Assistant Placement

  • Jen Dyer  – Researcher – University of Leeds / Nifty Sustainability
    Becki Jepson – Research Assistant – Nifty Sustainability
    Claire Workman – Grassroot training coordinator, Friends of the Earth
    Simon Bowens – Friends of the Earth

Leave the Light on for Me commissioned by Unlimited